top of page
  • nlbsilchar1

"Election Commission Declares Fresh Polling in Six Manipur Polling Stations on April 30"

The Election Commission declared the Lok Sabha elections held in six polling stations in the Outer Manipur Parliamentary constituency as invalid on Saturday and announced that fresh polling will take place at these stations on April 30, according to officials.

Polling was conducted on Friday at 848 polling stations across 13 of the 28 Assembly segments within the Outer Manipur Parliamentary seat. Voting for the other 15 Assembly segments occurred in the first phase on April 19, alongside voting for the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat.

Manipur Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Pradeep Kumar Jha, citing the Election Commission's order, encouraged voters to participate in large numbers in these six polling stations on Tuesday.

Election officials reported that disruptions took place at these six polling stations on Friday, which led the Election Commission to mandate fresh polling on Tuesday. Around 82% of approximately 4.85 lakh voters cast their votes on Friday in the remaining portion of the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency, which covers the eight hilly districts of Ukhrul, Kamjong, Tamenglong, Noney, Senapati, Jiribam, Pherzawl, and Tengnoupal.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page